#MTV2019:EMA’s Award 2019 winners,full list

With his 2019 MTV EMA win, Burna Boy joins an exclusive list of Nigerian superstar artistes who have won the much coveted international honour. Past Nigerian winners of the MTV EMA Best Africa Act award include 2Baba Idibia, D’Banj, Tiwa Savage and Davido. Alex Okosi, Executive Vice President and Managing Director for Viacom International Media Networks Africa (VIMN Africa) and BET International commented: “African music continues to make significant contributions to global entertainment and culture. We are proud of and congratulate Burna Boy from Nigeria for winning the Best Africa Act at the 2019 MTV EMA which showcases and celebrates the best talent from the world.” The 2019 awards show opened with pop superstar Dua Lipa delivering the first global stage performance of her new song “Don’t Start Now,” joined by a massive yellow wall of dancers. Following the performance, show host Becky G appeared in her first of many costumes to partake in a hilarious bilingual dialogue with herself that was a nod to the outstanding year in women-led and Latin music. 22-year-old Kevin Doe from Sierra Leone who is a self-taught engineer and entrepreneur was recognised as one of the 2019 MTV EMA Generation Change Award winners. The “MTV EMA Generation Change Award” returned a second year to elevate and empower the fearless, original young people who are changing the world using music, creativity and innovation. Five dynamic changemakers from around the globe were presented with the award during the “2019 MTV EMA” red carpet pre-show. The winners are among a generation of young people who are tackling the world’s toughest problems – including, climate change, economic imbalance and racial injustice. South African TV Personality and rapper Boity Thulo walked the 2019 MTV EMA’s Red Carpet in Seville Spain. She joined Impulse winner Alice Matabane and BFF on an experience to remember after winning their Impulse competition on MTV Africa (DStv channel 130). Highlights from the show included MTV EMA Host Becky G teaming up with Senegalese-American superstar Akon for the first global performance of their reggaeton smash “Como No.” The duo rolled down the runway-like stage on gliding carnival floats. The procession was marked with an explosion of colour, 54 dancers and a blend of instruments in a standout moment. Legendary rock group Green Day delighted thousands of hardcore fans with an epic performance of their new single “Father of All” and punk classic “Basket Case.” The first-ever MTV EMA Rock Icon winner Liam Gallagher closed the show with a breathtaking performance of his new single “Once” and anthemic hit “Wonderwall” complete with string instruments and a band. The moment was a nod to Gallagher’s classic rock and roll style. Additionally, MTV celebrated all the local EMA winners from different countries around the globe, from Nigeria, Spain to Latin America and Nigeria. Thirteen of the winners in attendance from their home countries were brought onto the stage for a tremendous in-show moment that showcased a truly global celebration of talent. See complete list of winners and performances below: FULL LIST OF “2019 MTV EMA” WINNERS *indicates winner BEST AFRICA ACT *Burna Boy (Nigeria) — (WINNER) Prince Kaybee (South Africa) TooFan (Toga) Nasty C (South Africa) Teni (Nigeria) Harmonize (Tanzania) BEST VIDEO Ariana Grande – thank u, next Billie Eilish- bad guy Lil Nas X – Old Town Road (Remix) ft. Billy Ray Cyrus Rosalía, J Balvin – Con Altura ft. El Guincho *Taylor Swift – ME! ft. Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco — (WINNER) BEST ARTIST Ariana Grande J Balvin Miley Cyrus *Shawn Mendes — (WINNER) Taylor Swift BEST SONG Ariana Grande- 7 rings *Billie Eilish- bad guy — (WINNER) Lil Nas X- Old Town Road (Remix) ft. Billy Ray Cyrus Post Malone, Swae Lee – Sunflower Shawn Mendes, Camila Cabello – Señorita BEST COLLABORATION BTS, Halsey – Boy With Luv Lil Nas X, Billy Ray Cyrus – Old Town Road (Remix) Mark Ronson, Miley Cyrus – Nothing Breaks Like a Heart *Rosalía, J Balvin – Con Altura ft. El Guincho — (WINNER) Shawn Mendes, Camila Cabello – Señorita The Chainsmokers, Bebe Rexha – Call You Mine BEST NEW Ava Max *Billie Eilish — (WINNER) Lewis Capaldi Lil Nas X Lizzo Mabel BEST POP Ariana Grande Becky G Camila Cabello *Halsey — (WINNER) Jonas Brothers Shawn Mendes BEST LIVE Ariana Grande *BTS — (WINNER) Ed Sheeran P!NK Travis Scott BEST ROCK *Green Day — (WINNER) Imagine Dragons Liam Gallagher Panic! At The Disco The 1975 BEST HIP-HOP 21 Savage Cardi B Cole *Nicki Minaj — (WINNER) Travis Scott BEST ALTERNATIVE *FKA Twigs — (WINNER) Lana Del Rey Solange twenty one pilots Vampire Weekend BEST ELECTRONIC Calvin Harris DJ Snake Marshmello *Martin Garrix — (WINNER) The Chainsmokers BEST PUSH *Ava Max — (WINNER) Billie Eilish CNCO H.E.R. Jade Bird Juice WRLD Kiana Ledé Lauv Lewis Capaldi Lizzo Mabel Rosalía BEST WORLD STAGE Bebe Rexha- Isle of MTV Malta 2019 Hailee Steinfeld – Isle of MTV Malta 2018 *Muse – Bilbao, Spain 2018 — (WINNER) The 1975 – Lollapalooza Paris Festival 2019 twenty one pilots – Lollapalooza Paris Festival 2019 BEST LOOK *Halsey — (WINNER) J Balvin Lil Nas X Lizzo Rosalía BIGGEST FANS Ariana Grande Billie Eilish *BTS — (WINNER) Shawn Mendes Taylor Swift BEST US ACT Ariana Grande Billie Eilish Lil Nas X Lizzo *Taylor Swift — (WINNER) BEST UK ACT Lewis Capaldi Dave Mabel Ed Sheeran *Little Mix — (WINNER) EMA GENERATION CHANGE HONOREES Alfredo “Danger” Martinez, 33, Mexico Shiden Tekle, 20, UK Lisa RanRan Hu, 20, China Kelvin Doe, 22, Sierra Leone Jamie Margolin, 17, USA FULL PERFORMANCE LIST Dua Lipa – “Don’t Start Now” Mabel – “Don’t Call Me Up” Niall Horan – “Nice to Meet Ya” Akon feat. Becky G – “Como No” Green Day – “Father of All,” Basket Case” Halsey – “Graveyard” Ava Max – “Torn,” “Sweet but Psycho” Rosalía – “Di Mi Nombre” NCT 127 – “Highway to Heaven” Becky G – “24/7,” “Sin Pajama,” “Mayores” Liam Gallagher – “Once,” “Wonderwall”


Serial hitmaker Burna Boy has been announced as the winner of the Best Africa Act award at the 2019 MTV EMA’s. Burna who was nominated alongside fellow Nigerian, Teni the Entertainer, South Africa’s Prince Kaybee and Nasty C, Harmonize from Tanzania and Togo’s duo TooFan, took home the prestigious award at a star studded event held in Seville, Spain on Sunday, November 3rd, 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here